Skip to Content


Connecting people, places and ideas

The College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics is made up of five departments, led by the dean and associate dean to ensure strategic alignment between internal efforts and across campus. We are a team of six working to ensure the best experience for our students, faculty and staff.

Read about the values that drive our mission.

Mission and Values

“Every time you receive information which may not look or feel right, confidently deploy your skepticism and scientific method.”
– Andrei Kutateladze, 2017 Commencement Address

Dean's Office

The office of the dean works with the chair of each department within our division to lead our community of outstanding scholars toward a collaborative culture in education and research. We are located in Boettcher West, suite 228.

Andrei Kutateladze

Dean, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics
John Evans Professor, Chemistry and Biochemistry
Office: 303-871-2995
Email: [email protected]

Nancy Sasaki

Associate Dean
Associate Professor, Biological Sciences
Office: 303-871-7879
Email: [email protected]

Leanne Bokinske

Assistant Dean, Budget & Operations
Office: 303-871-7530
Email: [email protected]

Karen Escobar

Manager, Business & Operations
Office: 303-871-4385
Email: [email protected]

Kirsten Norwood

Executive Assistant to the Dean
Office: 303-871-2693
Email: [email protected]

Kellan Barr

Communications Manager
Office: 303-871-2405
Email: [email protected]

Inclusive Excellence Fellow

This fellowship is established in partnership with DU's College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, Morgridge College of Education and the Interdisciplinary Research Institute for the Study of (In)Equality (IRISE).

  • 2018-2020 Fellow

    In 2018, we welcomed Loryn Rumsey to the dean's office as the Natural Sciences and Mathematics Inclusive Excellence Fellow. 

    Contact Loryn to talk about opportunities for inclusive excellence in science and math, outreach needs and upcoming workshops.

    Email: [email protected]


Visit the department websites to meet the chairs and their staff.